top of page
Simple Medicine

Pediatric and Psychiatry Clinical Rotations

At UWI in Jamaica, they have combined the pediatric and psychiatry rotations together into an 8 week programme. 1st 4 weeks of Community health (psychiatry) and last 4 weeks of Child Health (pediatrics). They call this rotation "Aspects of Family Medicine".


Community Health:

You attend online lectures and go on visits like the Victim's service Unit, Family Court and to other patient's homes. I got to visit a patient who was Bipolar and had a Schizophrenic son. This patient was so sweet and positive in spite of her circumstances. Apart from the lectures, we also had sessions of taking a patient's history. I made a few YouTube videos and posted them to my channel. I don't like to talk in my videos or put much of myself in them so they are mostly informative. One of my personality types is Avoidant, so I tend to be scared of putting myself on the internet out of fear of the judgment and ridicule of others.

Resources:


And my personal Creation:


A few questions that I remember from the MCQs:

What is evening primrose used for?

Concepts of freud

Role of the physician in a patient's life



Child Health:

This part of the rotation consists of going to the Well Baby Clinic, where we see lots of vaccinations given to children. We also learn about the developmental milestones and this part of the rotation really helps to hammer these points down since you are seeing real patients. The next week we go to Maypen Hospital or Bustamante Hospital for Children. It's sad to see so many children in pain, and the procedures like Lumbar puncture, arterial or venipuncture, putting a catheter or a vesicostomy (just to name a few) were really hard to watch. Week after was Post natal Ward, where we saw the BCG vaccine given and lots of physical exams given to babies and Pediatric Casualty was mainly respiratory or gastrointestinal cases. I observed a lot of history taking and saw some nebulization as well.

A lot of information has to be fit into these 4 weeks so I mainly used Kaplan and First Aid CK 2 as my resources. There is also a link that I used:


It contains info on the 1st set of rotations that UWI students do (Junior medicine, Junior surgery and Aspects of family medicine). We had an attendance sheet and procedure sheet and needed to have all procedures signed as proof that we saw/discussed them with our consultant.

The end of the rotations evaluations are broken up into MCQs (multiple choice questions) and OSCE (history taking) for both halves of the rotation. Pediatric history was 15 minutes long and the Community health history was 7 minutes.


My personal compiled notes



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to get closer to God

19 July 2022: We worship whatever it is we are spending our time on. Whatever we want to spend time doing. If we listen to a certain type...

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page